

Capitol Hill Steering Committee on Health Security



The Capitol Hill Steering Committee on Health Security is an informal forum to explore new policies, programs, and technologies that can improve national health security now and in the future. It convenes speakers—including Members of Congress, heads of federal agencies, industry representatives, and subject matter experts from academia—to discuss strengthening US health security. The Steering Committee is led by 9 Honorary Congressional Co-Chairs and 4 Honorary Founding Members. It is managed by the Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security at the Bloomberg School of Public Health.

Starting in October 2020, the Capitol Hill Steering Committee on Health Security began hosting webinars on topics ranging from COVID-19 vaccinations to disease surveillance and forecasting technologies. The regularly hosted sessions are widely attended by congressional staff; individuals working in local, state, and federal government agencies; academics; and partners in the private sector. Sessions have garnered top-tier media coverage in CNN, Politico, CBS News, and The Washington Post.

On average, the Capitol Hill Steering Committee on Health Security draws more than 275 real-time attendees to each webinar, including an average of 30 congressional staffers. Recorded webinars generate about 750 unique views per session.

More than 3,000 individuals viewed the session "Implementation of Mass Vaccination Campaigns in a Pandemic: Challenges and Opportunities during COVID-19." Another session, titled "COVID-19 Vaccination: What is Needed Now to Meet the Needs of the Hardest Hit Populations in the United States," was attended by 85 congressional staffers, representing more than 20% of the real-time attendees.

Honorary Senate Co-Chairs

Senator Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)
Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS)
Senator Thom Tillis (R-NC)
Senator Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)

Honorary House of Representatives Co-Chairs

Representative Diana DeGette (D-CO)
Representative Rosa DeLauro (D-CT)
Representative Neal Dunn (R-FL)
Representative Andy Harris (R-MD)
Representative Richard Hudson (R-NC)

Honorary Founding Members

Representative Lori Trahan (D-MA)

Susan Brooks, JD, Former US Representative from Indiana (R)

Stephen Redd, MD, Former Deputy Director for Public Health Service and Implementation Science, US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; Rear Admiral Retired, US Public Health Service

Kathleen Sebelius, MPA, Former Secretary, US Department of Health and Human Services, Former Governor of Kansas

W. Craig Vanderwagen, MD, Former Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response, US Department of Health and Human Services, Rear Admiral Retired, US Public Health Service